Borre Viking Market “2016” (part two)

borre20This place – “Borrehaugene” or “Borre National Park” is peaceful and beautiful, and the meadowsweet is surrounding the viking burial mounds. If I were to describe what a Viking marked is like it would be something like this: A time travel full of vibrating energies, with the smell of bonfire smoke and the taste of salty meat. borre23I need to build myself a throne and I felt very inspired when I saw this one. (Will obviously not copy it – who the f* does stuff like that anyways?) borre21borre16borre8borre22borre17borre19Laura Šmideberga is such a sweet, talented lady. She is glowing and her beads are so pretty. borre26These beads are handmade by her. Love them all- especially the gold beads in the middleborre1borre24Casually chilling in front of a tent. Beholding Viking Bling blinds me and I need to sit down to collect myself whilst shopping ancient style. .

I believe that I have expressed my love for this Viking market before, but I am happy to do so again; Borre Viking Market in Horten, -Vestfold, Norway, is one of my favorite markets so far. This market is biannual, which means that the next Kaupang will be in “2018”.

(Websites connected to Borrehaugene:)
Midgard Historiske Senter
Borre Vikinglag

Still working out which markets to attend this summer.
Which one will you go to- What is your favorite market(s)?

– Sól Geirsdóttir, The Viking Queen

5 thoughts on “Borre Viking Market “2016” (part two)

  1. Funny you ask.

    The market I’m looking at going to is in Denmark, the Moesgaard Viking Moot.

    It’s supposed to be a very big deal this year as it’s the moot’s 40th anniversary. That and the museums are supposed to be really amazing.

  2. I will be going to the Midgard market this year, same place, (different organizers, I think), except it is on the other side of the compound.
    Never been to the Kaupang before, so I am looking forward to it.
    I really like your blog by the way.
    Til ars ok fridar!

Leave a Reply

