Sarpsborg Viking Market “2016”

The visit at Sarpsborg was a short one this year. It was just a day trip to breathe some viking vibes with my friends. In hindsight, I wish I had taken more pictures, but I will probably have a chance to do so the coming year. One can never take too many pictures. Never ever.
sarp1Preparing for a feast, the Viking Way. A couple of men occasionally appeared to turn the animal whilst humming to themselves.   sarp4I absolutely adore these mugs. They made me daydream of happy times surrounded by friends and loved ones, sitting in front of a bonfire deep in the norse woods. I imagined sharing stories and laughing for hours, singing and enjoying each others company. Ah, that would be grand. It saddens me to say that there is too little of the sort in my life these days. But I would love to change that.
gjallarstadir88Oddities like these have fascinated me ever since I was a weird, kinda lonely child. Crow claws are über cool and crows are my favourite birds. I am well aware of the fact that ravens “should be” my first choice- but I guess I have strange preferences. (Ps – these are ethically harvested. No birds were killed to collect their feet)
sarp5Okay back to my daydream about the bonfire. In that daydream, these would be filled with mead, and the mead would never end. Anything goes when you imagine it, therefore my mind tends to wander a lot. And wander it does when I am beholding glorious viking goods like these! I could sell myself the whole market with that imagination of mine.
borre2I’ll take the Hammer over the cross any day. Therefore I cropped it away, didn’t let it stay. 
sarp2Lamb meat and a viking lady being crafty in the background
sarpsarpI like to change my viking boob bling occasionally. The black beads are actually volcano rocks. Btw- those are my natural nails…Unfortunately, the ones on my right hand were shorter than those on my left. I love symmetry godsdamnit! My nails tend to break a lot due to heavy lifting at the gym. Oh well, totally worth it.  
gjallarstadir77Been thinking about buying a drum ever since last summer. Any day now… Any day.
gjallarstadir7777Viking kitchen awesomeness goods and epic wall decor, heathen statement style.BagjallargjallarBadass Wood carving on a throne
vikingsarpOutfit hand stitched by me – 100% wool & 100% linen. The tablet weave is Oseberg style, I wear it to Honor one of the queens that ruled before me *wink* 

Like I said in my last post, I am going through a lot of photos that I simply forgot about in order to finally share them with you guys. So – Stay tuned for more:) Hope you are all having a wonderful night.

Sól Geirsdóttir, The Viking Queen

One thought on “Sarpsborg Viking Market “2016”

Leave a Reply

