Summer solstice

Happy summer Solstice, dear readers! It is an old pagan tradition to celebrate summer solstice – the longest day and the shortest night up here in the North. We mark the beginning of the summer and thank the gods for the seasons and earthly gifts we are granted. solstice Samdalen, Norway – this exact day, some years ago. solstice3solstice6 Three years ago, Summer Solstice was celebrated with my friends Silje and Lars Christian. Silje and I met in a nontraditional way – she used to read my old blog and decided to `ask me out` for tea. Never before and never after have I agreed to meet a blog reader in such a manner. Today, Silje and Lars Christian are some of my dearest and nearest – we talk about everything between Midgard and Valhall, and I trust them with all of my heathen heart. I even had the honor of being their ceremonial leader for their beautiful handfasting last summer. Seldom are the times that I cry, but I almost did in front of the altar with these two. To me, friends are like family and I’d rather have very few that I can trust with my life than many whom I don’t know what would wish upon me. Solstice makes me think of past times and dream of the future. My apologies if this felt too personal, I simply could not help but sharing the train of thought that ran trough my head as I went through these “old” pictures.. solstice2 I held the heathen hammer high back then too solstice7solstice8 This year is celebrated in solitude. Usually, I’ celebrate in norse nature with good friends, mead & mead ,and a burning fire…  How do you celebrate summer solstice?
~The Viking Queen

10 thoughts on “Summer solstice

  1. I think it’s nice that you’re personal 🙂 You’re three of my favorite people in the world, so it’s always wonderful to see you together. Summer solstice blessings from another who didn’t have time for celebration this year, but looking forward to the coming ones! ❤

  2. Beautiful pictures as always, and the personal touch just makes it that much more authentic!
    In my case it was a beautiful evening on the balcony with the wife, our balcony has a large maple tree growing right through the middel, with a light breeze going it was lovely and fortunately the football fans where not making a big racket, so that it was very pleasant.

  3. These are such fond memories and your words touch me deeply.. Summer solstice always makes me think of you and shared nights around a fire. I’m so looking forward to seeing you again and making more memories like these!

    And just for the record: Asking you out for tea is one of the best decisions I’ve ever made ❤

  4. Went to the cabin with 10 friends and 6 dogs. Spent Friday night and Saturday morning collecting about 1/2 a cord of dead fall wood. Planted some flowers around the cabin, shot bows with the guys and some of the girls for an hour while on a hike in the woods. Had an amazing bonfire for the solstice and roasted this year’s spring lamb, venison and some nice cuts of steak on the coals. Beer, wine, mead and rum aplenty…
    Best time of the year!

  5. ‘Tis indeed a lovely day in the year, one of my favorites! I was invited to a party for the first time where we got to celebrate my dear friend finishing college and the new summer to come. We drank all kinds of things and went swimming and then spoke about everything and anything in front of a fire.

    I think personal things are never bad to share as long as the one sharing is comfortable with it that is all that matters. I think your story of you and your friends is beautiful. It’s funny how some people meet. My soul sister and I went to school together until we were 19 or 20 and not until 2012 when we were 22 did we actually become friends and very very close friends, too.

  6. Hey, I’m Ebon Talifarro, my class (8th grade) wants to interview you, would you have time to answer a few questions?

Leave a Reply

