Hazel Viking Bow

Image
Behold my glorious Viking Bow! Custom made by Eirik Diserud
Image
She. Practicing archery in the norse forests. Focus face on!
Image
Let me let you in on a secret – I’ve learned how to make arrows!
The master of bow making taught me how to *wink*
Image
With linen wrapped around it, and reindeer horn on the top and bottom.
Image
Please notice the Sól rune. Easy to see that it is: MINE my OWN my PRECIOUS!
*grins and strolls back into the norse forests*

Do you practice archery? 

~ Sól Geirsdóttir / The Viking Queen

20 thoughts on “Hazel Viking Bow

  1. That’s some epic equipment you’ve got there! I haven’t held a bow in ages, but I recently found out that there’s an archery club near where I live. I’ve been meaning to have a look! Definitely feel like picking it up again.

  2. I used to play with a toy bow as a child. I pretended to be a very gifted archer, but sadly haven’t touched a bow since then. I love the picture of you with your bow. I love your outfit!

  3. Gratulerer med flott langbue! Kjenner eg saknar å skyte no, får satse på at vær og vind gjer det mogleg igjen snart 🙂

  4. I shoot almost every day with a bow I bought at a yard sale for US$7.50. After research and looking on ebay, I basically plundered this bow. (Retails around $200 on Ebay.) (no string, had to buy that for $3.50) and then arrows a few years ago. Stick and string is all it is and all I need. Although I enjoy shooting every day, it would be more fun with a queen. 😉

    In any event, thank you for sharing! Makes me want to jump up and run out into the night and shoot. Use a candle to shoot at, maybe.

  5. I hunt deer and moose with a bow, not the same as the beauty you have in your pictures but a modern compound. There is a great respect and thankfulness to nature and the animal when you hunt it and prepare it for the family table. This understanding and respect for nature is lost when you buy plastic packaged meat from the grocery store.
    Do you plan on trying a hunt with your new bow?

  6. I do noot even know how I ended up here, but I thought tis post
    was good. I don’t know who you are but certainly you’re
    going to a famous blogger if yoou aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

Leave a Reply

